Composer's Voice presents EXPLORING NEW TIMBRES
Monday, January 27, 2014 - 7:30pm

881 7th Ave
New York, NY 10019

Monday, January 27, 2014 at 7:30 PM in Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall, Composer’s Voice explores new sound timbres with Duo Anova and the Bateira Trio. These two new ensembles will color the evening with their unique instrumentation. Duo Anova consists of the emerging guitarist Ke nji Haba and cellist Susan Davita Mandel. Industry veterans Sa ndy Huges playing flute, violinist Conway Kuo, and Satoshi Okamoto on Double Bass form the Bateira Trio.

The Bateira Trio brings new life to traditional works and has a bold approach to new music. A mixed ensemble of flute and strings, Bateira’s unique timbre is best described by composer, Vivian Li: “fresh sounds that, when pureed, make a wholesome drink for y our spirit.” The New York City-based ensemble was born from a group of musicians and friends that enjoyed animated conversation ove r a platter of Bateira Sushi. The Bateira Trio seeks collaborations with both established and blossoming composers, enlarging the repertoire for this lovely combination of colors.

Sandy Hughes became a member of the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra in the 2012-13 season. Called “one of the best young American flutists I’ve heard” by Sir Ja mes Galway, she has received critical acclaim for her “eloquent playing” and “detailed a ttention to the musical phrase.” Sandy plays second flute with the Akron Symphony Orchestra and also appears frequently with the New Yo rk Philharmonic.

Conway Kuo is currently the Associate Pr incipal Second Violin of the New York City Ballet Orchestra and also a Section First Violinist with the New York City Opera Orchestra. Conway perf orms regularly with the Philadelp hia Orchestra and has participat ed in the Aspen, Schleswig-Holstein, and Pacific Music Festivals.

Satoshi Okamoto is Acting Associate Principal Double Bass with the New York Philharmonic. He was Assistant Principal Double Bass in the San Antonio Symphony for eight years and a member of the New York City Ballet Orchestra for one before joining the New York Philharmonic.

The trio will be performing a work by Vivian Li and Concertin o by Erwin Schulhoff. Bateira Trio will also encore their Fifteen Minutes of Fame – a set of 15 one-minute miniatures written by 15 different composers written specifically for the ensemble. "...the 15 Minutes of Fame project of Vox Novus is a godsend. It organizes competitions whereby ensembles commission worldwide calls for submissions of approximately one-m inute pieces, and then select their 15 favo rites for premieres. " - New York Music Culture Examiner

Emerging guitarist Kenji Haba and cellist Su san Davita Mandel of Duo Anova will present their talents in a dynamic program of music from living composers including Atanas Ourkouzounov and Dusan Bogdanovic. Bonding over their passion for contemporary music and their animated sense of humor , Susan Mandel and Kenji Haba formed Duo Anova to offer an exceptional experience; opening the listener’s mind to a new dimension of textures and sounds unique to cello and guitar.

Kenji Haba is a guitarist who heralds a new direction for classical guitar through his insight and work with the coloration of sounds, as well as through bringing new formats to the landscape. He is well known for his interpretation of Toru Takemitsu, his perfor mances having been described as an “ideal match for Takemitsu’s music” by Fanfare. He is a champion performer of contemporary music, with over 20 pieces of music written for and premiered by him.

Susan Davita Mandel is a native of New York. In her classical training, she has studied with cellists Marion Feldman and Dr. Frederick Zlotkin. She performed at Weill Recital Hall as finalis ts of the AMTL Young Musicians concert series. In addition to her passion for classical performance, she has interests outside of the classical genre involving collaborations with hip-hop, pop, rock, and jazz artists. She has recently performed with indie artist, Feist, at Radio City Mu sic Hall with a Mason Jar Music ensemble.

One of the premier showcases for promising composers, Composer’s Voice Concert Series is an opportunity for contemporary composers and musicians to express their musical aesthetic and personal “voice.” Composer’s Voice has presented over 100 concer ts in New York City and scores of concert performances throughout the world. "[Vox Novus offers] the presentation of serious work s by established and emerging composers. Those voices should be heard, and they can even be reheard on the Vox Novus website ( )..." - New Music Connoisseur

Video promo:


Vox Novus & Douglas DaSilva